Skip & Amy

Good Kid of the Week

On-Air Times:
Monday-Friday
6-10 a.m. EST
5-9 a.m. CST
3-7 a.m. PST
Saturday
9 a.m. - 1 p.m. EST
8 a.m. - 12 p.m. CST
6-10 a.m. PST

 

About Amy

Thanks to my three young boys (Elijah, Maxwell and Isaac), you'll often find me busy peeling spaghetti off the wall or getting buried under piles of laundry! My pastor husband, Eric, and I LOVE our boys beyond belief. In fact, we love lots of kids. Over the past 16 years, we've worked in youth ministry, and while I've enjoyed summer camps and late night pizza, I never forgot what I said as a child in Council Bluffs, Iowa, 'I want to be the next Barbara Walters.' Okay maybe not the blond hair (I like being a brunette), but the interviewing part. I enjoy getting to know people - sitting down for a chat over cheesecake. With a degree in broadcast journalism, I tried radio, TV and Public Relations, and a decade ago God gave me the privilege of joining the team at K-LOVE. Now, I can chat with my friends and off-air I can sing to my best friend Jesus at the top of lungs! I am thankful that every day I can live out God's promises in my life verses, Jeremiah 29:11-13: “'For I know the plans I have for you,' says the Lord. 'They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me.'"

 

About Skip

After years in secular radio, Skip got God’s calling to work in Christian radio. He describes his journey to K-LOVE as "when He taps you on the shoulder, you have to answer."

 

He worked in country radio for decades, one of the only places where “you’re encouraged to have and show your faith.” He sees a lot of similarities in the personal values of the country audience and the Christian audience: God, country and family.

 

He’s a fun-loving, left-hander who loves pizza and movies. He was born in Shreveport, Louisiana, but grew up near Los Angeles, California. Skip says he’s a “frustrated musician and a lousy athlete.” He loves movies, TV and eating what's generally bad for him. “I have this obnoxious ability to remember all sorts of useless things. I'm not a sports geek, but I do love baseball and football.”

 

Skip got into radio as a result of a friendly wager. After a failed attempt at seminary, he was studying political science and theater when his friend heard an ad for broadcasting school. “She bet me a home-cooked, fried-chicken dinner that I would be accepted if I auditioned. Going to that audition was one of the smartest things I ever did.”


Get exclusive content, free tickets and new songs!

K-LOVE is a 501(c)3 and all donations are tax deductible. Employer ID Number: 94-2816342

© 2022 Educational Media Foundation, All rights reserved