New Living Translation (NLT)

Joshua 12:1-24

Joshua 12:1-24, NLT

Joshua 12

Kings Defeated East of the Jordan

1These are the kings east of the Jordan River who had been killed by the Israelites and whose land was taken. Their territory extended from the Arnon Gorge to Mount Hermon and included all the land east of the Jordan Valley.*12:1 Hebrew the Arabah; also in 12:3, 8.

2King Sihon of the Amorites, who lived in Heshbon, was defeated. His kingdom included Aroer, on the edge of the Arnon Gorge, and extended from the middle of the Arnon Gorge to the Jabbok River, which serves as a border for the Ammonites. This territory included the southern half of the territory of Gilead.

3Sihon also controlled the Jordan Valley and regions to the east—from as far north as the Sea of Galilee to as far south as the Dead Sea,*12:3 Hebrew from the Sea of Kinnereth to the Sea of the Arabah, which is the Salt Sea. including the road to Beth-jeshimoth and southward to the slopes of Pisgah.

4King Og of Bashan, the last of the Rephaites, lived at Ashtaroth and Edrei.

5He ruled a territory stretching from Mount Hermon to Salecah in the north and to all of Bashan in the east, and westward to the borders of the kingdoms of Geshur and Maacah. This territory included the northern half of Gilead, as far as the boundary of King Sihon of Heshbon.

6Moses, the servant of the Lord, and the Israelites had destroyed the people of King Sihon and King Og. And Moses gave their land as a possession to the tribes of Reuben, Gad, and the half-tribe of Manasseh.

Kings Defeated West of the Jordan

7The following is a list of the kings that Joshua and the Israelite armies defeated on the west side of the Jordan, from Baal-gad in the valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak, which leads up to Seir. (Joshua gave this land to the tribes of Israel as their possession,

8including the hill country, the western foothills,*12:8 Hebrew the Shephelah. the Jordan Valley, the mountain slopes, the Judean wilderness, and the Negev. The people who lived in this region were the Hittites, the Amorites, the Canaanites, the Perizzites, the Hivites, and the Jebusites.) These are the kings Israel defeated:

9The king of Jericho

The king of Ai, near Bethel

10The king of Jerusalem

The king of Hebron

11The king of Jarmuth

The king of Lachish

12The king of Eglon

The king of Gezer

13The king of Debir

The king of Geder

14The king of Hormah

The king of Arad

15The king of Libnah

The king of Adullam

16The king of Makkedah

The king of Bethel

17The king of Tappuah

The king of Hepher

18The king of Aphek

The king of Lasharon

19The king of Madon

The king of Hazor

20The king of Shimron-meron

The king of Acshaph

21The king of Taanach

The king of Megiddo

22The king of Kedesh

The king of Jokneam in Carmel

23The king of Dor in the town of Naphoth-dor*12:23a Hebrew Naphath-dor, a variant spelling of Naphoth-dor.

The king of Goyim in Gilgal*12:23b Greek version reads Goyim in Galilee.

24The king of Tirzah.

In all, thirty-one kings were defeated.